“Most of the time that I was in the U.K., I rarely wore color. There was thought in that,” she said in the documentary. “To my understanding, you could never wear the same color as Her Majesty (Queen Elizabeth II) if there’s a group event, but then you also shouldn’t be wearing the same color as one of the other more senior members of the family [likely Kate Middleton and Queen Consort Camilla].” “So I was like, ‘Well, what’s a color that they’ll probably never wear?’ Camel, beige, white,” she explained. “So I wore a lot of muted tones, but it was also so I could just blend in. I’m not trying to stand out here. There was no version of me joining this family and me not doing everything I could to fit in. I don’t want to embarrass the family.” Since leaving the royal family, Meghan has sported vibrant shades of blue, green and red, including in her final engagements as a royal. See her style transformation from California girl to TV star to royal and back.

Meghan Markle Pictures   See Meghan Markle Style Photos Through the Years - 90Meghan Markle Pictures   See Meghan Markle Style Photos Through the Years - 26Meghan Markle Pictures   See Meghan Markle Style Photos Through the Years - 36