Couric added, “My daughters are, first and foremost, incredibly nice girls with good values.” Here is everything you need to know about Katie Couric’s family…

How many kids does Katie Couric have?

The Stand Up To Cancer cofounder has two daughters.

Who was Katie Couric’s first husband?

Couric was married to John Paul Monahan, the father of her children. The journalist married the attorney, known as Jay, in 1989. Monahan sadly died of colon cancer at the age of 42 in 1998.

Who are Katie Couric’s kids?

Couric and Monahan welcomed their first child, Elinor “Ellie” Monahan, in 1991 and her second daughter, Caroline “Carrie” Monahan, in 1996. Ellie, who is a TV writer, got engaged to her “beloved Jersey boy” Mark Dobrosky in 2019 with the ring Monahan gave Couric. Two years later at her wedding in Port Jervis, New York, Ellie honored her late father as she walked down the aisle. Couric revealed on her Instagram, “Ellie walked down the aisle to Ashokan Farewell played by the composer, Jay Unger and his family band. Jay Monahan loved that song, which was used in Ken Burn’s series on the Civil War, so it was a way to honor him. (Yes, I cried the whole time. Most of the people there did.).” The mother of the bride wore a pink dress—with pockets—by Marchesa’s Georgina Chapman. On her daughter’s wedding day, Couric wrote that “Jay would be so proud.” Ellie opened up about losing her father in a story for the HuffPost over a decade after his passing. “Though we suffered that devastating loss at a young age (I was six, my sister only two), we have also been very fortunate to have been brought up by a strong, supportive, and loving mother whose friends and coworkers, both male and female, have and continue to serve as positive role models. Likewise our grandparents and extended family, especially our mother’s father, always took an active interest in our lives,” she penned. Couric’s eldest also wrote, “There are moments where I crumble at the thought of my father, often unexpectedly.” According to their respective LinkedInpages, Ellie graduated from Yale University in 2013 and her younger sister from Stanford University in 2018. Carrie also earned a master’s degree at Columbia University and is currently a fact check producer for Reuters. In the past, Couric has described her firstborn as a “private person.” “She’s actually pretty low-key. When she was 16 and I did an interview with a magazine, I told a story about her and she said, ‘Mom, I’d really prefer that you not talk about me in public, and if you do, can you just ask me first?’” the Katie Couric Media cofounder told AOL in 2019. “I was like, ‘You’re absolutely right.’”

What did Katie Couric say about being a single mom?

Couric became a single parent following the death of her first husband. The Going There author admitted to Working Mother in 2012 that it was “definitely challenging” trying to manage work and family as a single mom. “Add trying to have a social life and it can get even trickier. I try to limit the things I do at night and not travel too much. If I do have to be away for work, I make sure I’m home for the nights before I leave and build in plenty of time at home once I return,” she said. Parenting without Monahan also meant playing both the good and bad cop. “You don’t have the bad cop when you’re the good cop and you don’t have a good cop when you’re the bad cop, you’re like the whole police force in your family… and so it’s challenging,” she told the HuffPost Live’s Ahmed Shihab-Eldin in 2013. “There are so many joys to being a parent that when I think about the hardships… it’s hard to really come up with those as much as it is to really sort of articulate the joys.”

Did Katie Couric remarry after her husband’s death?

After losing her first husband, Couric found love with John Molner. The mom of two married Molner in 2014 at her East Hampton home. “In 2012 I was single again and I asked a friend of mine, Molly, whose husband is a trauma surgeon, if her husband knew any other doctors because I thought I’d like to go out with a doctor,” Couric told Jess Cagle in a 2018 episode of The Jess Cagle Interview (via PEOPLE). “And so she thought about it and she said, ‘We don’t really know a doctor, but we do know this banker named John Molner.’ And I said, ‘Does he have a pulse?’” The pair met at a restaurant after Molner finally asked her out. Couric recalled, “He had me at hello.” The TV personality previously told Parade.com that she’s “grateful” to have found love in her 50s. “I hit the jackpot, but I was also very intentional about wanting to find someone to share my life with,” Couric said. “You’ve got to get out there and make it happen. You’re not going to run into some guy at a bookstore like they do in the movies.”

Does Katie Couric have stepchildren?

Upon her second marriage, Couric became a stepmother to Molner’s children: Allie and Henry. Next, meet Nick Cannon’s kids!

Katie Couric s Daughters  All About Elinor and Caroline - 86